top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarion Compton

September 2021 Recap:

As the rush of summer winds down, my September goals were to:

  • Finish my green tester dress for the Love and Beauty dress.

  • Get as far as possible on the applique for my chair cover.

As I said in my August post, I spent the beginning of September very ill, and it pushed back my schedule and goals dramatically. I was able to recover for Battle on the Bay though, and that felt good.

My favorite part of the cloisters, the inner garden. Photo credit- Sof'ia/Holly Decker

Most of the month was spent on the Green Saya. I'm very high key in love with this dress and am thrilled it got to functionally wearable for the Great Court at Battle on the Bay. It still needs a lot of its decoration done, but I'm adding that to October goals. Once fully completed, I'll make a blog post on it, but the big takeaways so far are that the decision to fully complete each constituent piece then assemble was a good one and that the next time I do a dress with sewn-on embellishments, I REALLY need to do those while the pieces are flat and before assembly... The ribbon embellishments are taking a lot longer than expected, partially because I definitely underestimated how many of them there were, but also because they're tedious and therefore take much more brainpower for motivation than they have any right to.


We (and by we I mean me and Hrefna) also made a dress for Sof'ia this month! This was a really fun collaborative project. Sof'ia needs some warm weather clothing, and Battle promises to get chilly so we decided to raid Hrefna and Hakon's stash of flannels to build Sof'ia something she could stay warm in. We chose a Viking underdress style because that'll work with a lot of different things to gear it Viking or Rus or so on. It's in a pretty pink and finished on the hem with a dark red bias tape that I think really makes it.


We spent a whole day taking measurements, cutting out testers, and then sewing the garment. Hrefna did the machine sewing, as this is really not my area of expertise, and I did all the finishing. It was really special to be able to work collaboratively on a project and to be working on a project for someone else. Made for a really nice break to the Green Saya (that def needs a better name).


Lastly, we did take a weekend of time to run up to New York for two museum exhibits and to see Six! on Broadway and it was an exceptional weekend. I've done up a quick blog post on it here, with links to our photo albums.


My October goals are as follows:

  • Get as far on the Green Saya as I can. I'm going to need to pace myself on this one.

  • Make a faldrilla in preparation for cold weather.

If I have time, I'd like to work on some of the following:

  • Knitting the second stocking. I'm traveling to California in October for family stuff, so the stocking will be the easiest thing for me to bring with me honestly.

  • Try to make one of the pieces of jewelry for the Love and Beauty outfit.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page