top of page
  • Mariana Ruiz de Medina

2021 New York Trip Debrief


The central garden and façade at the Met Cloisters.

It seems like we make a run to New York for museum exhibits a habit, and I truly don't mind that. This year, Hrefna, Sof'ia, and I hit the Medici exhibit, an early medieval Spanish art exhibit, and got to see Six! on Broadway.


The Medici exhibit was an incredible collection of art focusing on the lives of the Medici family and the world in which they lived and operated. I loved how heavily portraiture-focused this event was. I even got to use some of the info I learned in Bea's "Saints and Silverware" class to identify saint iconography! We got some incredible pictures of clothing details, as well as some insights into day-to-day life.



Our next stop is one of my favorite places in the world- The Met Cloisters. I love this museum. Not only is the art some of my favorite styles, but the building itself is. It is a beautiful combination of architecture, gardening, and museum display and it is so relaxing and beautiful. The Spanish art exhibit here featured some more great variety- covering pieces from al-Andalus, art from Christian Spain, and much to my excitement, some beautiful Jewish art as well. In particular, there is a personal letter in Hebrew that I love for its personal handwriting feel. Poor Sof'ia was hugely accommodating and stood on her tiptoes to help me get a lovely photo of it.



One of my other favorite finds was a Torah with a beautiful decoration that the museum calls micrography. It features a beautiful knotwork pattern border that is actually words and letters and I think it is absolutely stunning. I've created a mini-Google album of this piece here.


Lastly was Six!. Sof'ia and I have been in love with this show's album for quite some time. Before the Plague Times, Sof'ia was actually supposed to see this show. Unfortunately, the world had other plans, but I'm thrilled we all got to go together. This show is a really fun, modern show but featuring the six wives of Henry VIII. If you haven't checked out the album on Spotify, do it!



6 views0 comments
bottom of page