top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarion Compton

December 2021 Recap: A Whirlwind End to a Whirlwind Year

Lastly, for December, my goals were:

  • Finish the Green Saya bodice striping.

  • Start the calzas.

  • Write 2022 goals.

First try on of the Green Saya after the bodice was completed.

December turned on its head in the truly best way possible. Mundanely, my life got insane. I won't say more here, because I don't want to tip my hand quite yet, but big things are hopefully coming down the pipeline.


I finished the garters. Those needed to be longer than anticipated- about 40" each when accounting for stretching, but between plane flights and downtime for holidays, I managed to get them both done. I still have a good amount of this yarn left, I'll have to come up with something good to do with it. Maybe a muff of some sort. I know those aren't period, but man they're cozy.


I did finish the bodice striping on the Green Saya. It looks absolutely incredible. I also finished the top-most skirt stripe And I feel incredible in it too. I still have all the skirt to do and that's a not insignificant amount, but I am confident if I plan right I can get this thing done.


I did not even start on the calzas. I didn't want to start those without having a garter finished to help conceptualize them. My plan in January is to block the stockings and start on one of the calzas. I'd like to have at least one to display for KASF, ideally two.


I did write my 2022 goals. The blog post on those can be found here. It's mostly a long list of things that would be cool and help work down the stash of things I already own. I was not super budget smart with purchases this year, especially since I bought several things for projects that needed a lot of testing and research. My major plan for 2022 is to work the stash down. I have a lot of blue fabric. I'm getting a little tired of blue fabric. But that said, blue goes with everything and I can just pretend it's just so very Atlantian of me.


I also got my rings done! I was right about it being a very quick project, but I'm thrilled with how they look. I think they'll be a great addition to my business cards that I eventually make to give out for A&S stuff.


My January goals are:

  • Finish the black and gold cushion.

  • Make some good progress on the Green Saya.

  • Start on the white linen calzas.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page