top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarion Compton

November 2021 Recap: Falling Upwards

For November, the goals I wanted to accomplish were:

  • Finish the stocking.

  • Make more progress on the Green Saya.

  • Start knitting garters.

November went well shockingly! I never expect to get that much done during November, given Thanksgiving and all that jazz. This November seems to be the exception and I'm really truly thrilled with that fact.

A pair of knitted stockings in red, being worn, viewed from the front
The completed red stockings!

First up, my original outlined goals. I finished the stockings right before Thanksgiving and I'm really happy with how they turned out. They're not perfect, but honestly, for my first successful pair of socks in 17 years of knitting, I will take that and run with it. They are not yet blocked, because I don't really have blocking mats, but that's in the works for December. They fit well, they're warm, they're a gorgeous color, and honestly everything I could have hoped for when I started this project.


I began the garters right after I finished the stockings, because those could be my easy travel project for the next month. My worry there is that they need to be much longer than I expected. Originally, I had planned for them to just wrap around my thigh but on further research, primarily via the Tudor Tailor, I learned they should wrap above and below my knee and that adds a good amount of length. I think I'll still be able to get them done before the end of the year, but it'll really require some pushing.


The Green Saya had a heck of a month too. I finished the neckline and started on the striping on the bodice and it looks AMAZING. I love this dress. Truly. I cannot wait to have it completed and done. I'm hoping to finish the bodice striping in December, then move onto the skirt in January of 2022. The dream is to have it finished in time for KASF. I don't think I'll have that many other parts of the outfit done by then, but I'm going to give it all a go. I have not yet made up my mind about lining the sleeves.


Onto unplanned accomplishments:

Green labradorite cabochons set in silver colored bezels
Green labradorite cabochons set in their bezels

I did not to much outside of really power knitting this month, but I did find some gorgeous cabochons to make the headpiece for the Green Saya. I got those and some bezels off Amazon and was able to set those all in. I would like to try grinding down the loops on the bezels, so I can more neatly attach them to a ribbon. I have the spacers already, and I think these set on a white ribbon will do an excellent job as the headpiece for my Green Saya outfit.


For December, I think I'm going to set my goals light, because they're still pretty substantial:

  • Finish the garters.

  • Finish the Green Saya striping.

  • Start the calzas.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page