top of page
  • Mariana Ruiz de Medina

2022: The Year of Playing Catch Up

Updated: Dec 27, 2021

2021 was reasonably successful on my goals for a coherent and complete closet of garb. I managed to complete the following:

  • The red tabardo

  • The red sleeves

  • Salome's tester cofia

  • 2 camisas

  • The Domingo Ram gray saya

  • A goldworked purse

  • 1 pair of calzones

  • A Hiberno-Norse kit that included an underdress and apron dress.

  • A plain cofia

  • Salome's tester cofia

  • The loba/tabardo/I'm not sure what black overcoat

  • Sof'ia's flannel underdress (with Hrefna)

  • Sof'ia's Rus style coat

  • A constructed chair cover

  • Completed construction on the Green Saya (and most of the embellishment)

  • The red faldrilla

  • The first Green Saya necklace

This stash of scrap is how I feel about my 2021 to do list.

I lost the Red/Green dress, but that hadn't fit right in a while in the arms. I blame Evan and him getting me to the gym to lift regularly. All in all.... I accomplished a LOT in 2021, even when it didn't really feel like I did. So that's pretty cool. I am ending the year with a persona accurate wardrobe of 2 every day dresses, 3 camisas, 3 pieces of outerwear (one casual, one fancier, and one historically inaccurate shawl that's warm), 2 usable-ish pairs of calzones, 2 cofias and a good amount of stuff in progress staged for next year.


One thing I noticed a lot in 2021 was that my targets changed really regularly. What made sense at the beginning of the year simply did not make sense by October or November anymore. I think for 2022, what I'd like to do is set an endgame goal set, and then consult with that to set monthly goals each time I do a monthly post. The monthly posts kept me really accountable to actually doing things each month, while also giving me the leeway I needed to change my targets when life happened. I do plan to continue these into 2022, with additional posts for major project completion.


In mid-December, I did a big clean up of the sewing desk and SCA closet and noticed a few things. First, that I have several projects in progress that haven't gotten attention in a while because I have been so excited about the Green Saya project. Second, that I have a good stack of materials that are already designated for projects that have not yet been started. Third, that I also have a stack of fabrics NOT designated for a project that needs to be whittled down. So my priorities for 2022 are to start with the works in progress, move on to the designated projects, and find a purpose for those fabrics that have been languishing for a while and need a clean out.


Works In Progress (in order of priority)

  • Green Saya

  • Green Saya jeweled head piece (the jeweled pieces are done for this, it's just a matter of sewing them onto ribbon, should be a one day project)

  • Red pocketed belt flats (I only need to sew the tops down to make them belt ready, this should be a 5-10 minute project)

  • Black and gold cushion (this is pinned, and will be a sewing machine project, should be a one day thing)

  • Chair cover heraldry

  • Embroidered cup cover

Materials with Designated Projects (in order of priority)

  • White linen bundle for a cofia y tranzado in the St. Birgitta style and testing out the new braid case design concept

  • Silk gauze for the veil for the Green Saya. The major issue here is I need to soften it somehow to get better drape, and I don't know how do to that yet. I need to get the gold trim for this.

  • The new black wool for a Flemish hood for the Green Saya. I do not have the lining necessary for this yet. This project will only use up half the black wool I have for it. This hood would look really lovely with some of the green and gold trim from Crown.

  • Small piece of black wool recycled from the Black Kirtle for a small stomacher to go with the red tabardo. I'm still not sure I really want to make this honestly. There is a black stomacher in a painting of a tabardo that looks really nice, but it's a different style garment and I'm not sure if this would take away from my current piece at all.

  • Black and silver fabric from Holly will be made into a few pillows and maybe a table runner on the sewing machine. I have a bunch of scrap fabric and poly-fill for this already. This project should only be a day's worth or so.

  • Blue cotton sateen for a sayuelo. I really want a historically accurate piece of warmer outerwear and I think this is going to be a very nice addition. I definitely need some sort of a lining for this. I may be able to use something from my stash-I have dark blue wool recycled from the Blue Tudor, but I'm not sure if there's enough. The example image also has a contrasting trim, but I'm not sure if I want this to be a bit more casual. The fabric is really lovely on its own and I'd hate to overwhelm it.

  • Green wool for another Flemish hood. I need to get lining for this as well. I think the for black hood above, I'm going to use a gold silk I found, and that would work well for this hood too. The trim mentioned above would also look pretty here.

  • Blue upholstery fabric for a camp bench. This is a much bigger ask that will likely need Hakon's help because I am not a woodworker of any sort.

Some other projects I had been mulling about are as follows. If there is a * next to it, it means it is very aspirational and I don't think I'm going to get to it this year, but I want to have a record of it for next.


Ambiance/Camp Presence

  • Floor covers for both "rooms" in the tent as well as the popup.*

  • Two painted banners with my heraldry on them, and stands to put them on.*

  • A backdrop for use during SCA Zoom calls.*

  • Finish the chair cover finally.

  • Make pillows and maybe a table runner for camp.


Garb/Accessories

  • Finish the Green Saya outfit (As of Jan 1, I still need to make: the embroidered camisa, the slippers, the belt, all three pieces of headwear, the pantoffles, and get a pendant for the second necklace)

  • A 14th C brial with short sleeves (red) to replace the Red/Green dress that died. This is hard to justify considering just how much blue fabric I have in my stash that needs a purpose. I'm just a bit burnt out on blue. This will get dressed up with some of the wide trim I bought at Crown.*

  • A blue linen brial out of the blue Allure linen I have in my fabric stash and some white linen lining. This I plan to make sleeveless, but with points at the shoulder just in case. The goal for this piece is to make it a bit more 15th C appropriate. I might consider trying some block printing on this for the first time.

  • Revisiting calzones. At least one more pair would be nice and I would like to reassess whether or not a drawstring is the right decision.

  • A wide sleeved camisa to go with the two briales above and as a tester piece for Salome's camisa.

  • 2-3 more camisas (that will put me at 6-7 camisas, which should get me through 9 days at Pennsic with one planned laundry session).*

My goals for January are as follows. I'm sticking to small projects to try to knock a lot of those out early in the year if possible, to leave time for the bigger things later.

  • Finish the red pocketed belt flaps.

  • Finish the black and gold cushion.

  • Get a move on on the Green Saya




3 views0 comments
bottom of page