top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarion Compton

July 2021 Recap: If It Sounds Simple, You're Doing It Wrong

For July, my goals were to:

  • Get through my Hiberno-Norse insane sew-along.

  • Make another set of bragas/calzones.

  • Make the casual loba/tabardo/I'm not sure what to call it yet garment.

  • Make another cofia.

The cofia, pictured at Stierbach Baronial Birthday

I did indeed finish my Hiberno-Norse, in time for Bloodbath! That was done by July 16th. I've got a full post on that here.


Then I began the bragas. Sort of. I began documenting the bragas. Only to finally find the actual museum listing, begin a conversation with the curators, and learn that the garment was reconstructed in the 19th century and cannot necessarily be relied upon for its accuracy. So... I didn't make another set. I spent a lot of time considering other alternatives to doing so. I did write and submit my documentation on these for the 2021 Known World Arts and Sciences Display for Virtual Pennsic, which was exciting. The blog post on this can be found here.


One day at fighter practice, I did knock out the cofia. I made this one a bit deeper in the head than my previous ones, and I like how that fits. The spare fabric I had was not long enough to go around the whole headband area, so I added two ties just to the very ends of the cap portion. I like the extra body in the cap area so I can wrap the tranzado in a bun shape more easily and stably.

I did start the loba/tabardo/I don't even know what anymore. At this point, there are a couple of garments it looks like so honestly, I'm going to probably end up chalking this one up to anachronism. I should have it finished within a couple of days before I rethink my August goals. I set the bar very low in both August and September thinking I would be traveling too much to do much. I did order a yarn swift and ball winder, so I may power through the sock as much as I can over the next two months.


I was originally going to make a manto out of the remaining gray fabric from the Domingo Ram saya but honestly, that does not bring me a lot of joy or excitement. I think that is better served for getting Sof'ia a coat she can use for her Rus/Tartar War of the Wings trip that's upcoming.


August goals:

  • Finish the loba/tabardo/I don't even know project

8 views0 comments
bottom of page