top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarion Compton

August 2021 Recap: Big Dreams, Meet Reality

My August goals (other than praying that Pennsic happens) were:

  • If I haven't finished the casual tabardo/loba, start August with that.

  • Make a manto.

So as I said in July, I decided that the manto brought me no joy, goldworked or not. And frankly, I have no energy for a project that brings me no joy like that for a garment I don't see myself using much. And thus, I decided to skip it.


The Unnameable Garment during fitting stages. Please forgive my lack of full garb.

Instead, I started August finishing the tabardo/loba/I don't even know what but I like it garment. That did bring me joy, and brought repurposing of the black wool skirt from my Tudor kirtle. It did prove a lot more challenging than I expected, but once again, this was never supposed to be the final version of this piece. It's completed and wearable, but the next time I try to make one of these, I know that a) gores are needed and b) they should not go where I put them this time. I also would add something to stiffen/weigh down the front edges so it sits just a little flatter.


The next project I tackled in August was my chair cover-finally. I got a kick in the pants on this from the Drachenwald Laurel's challenge. Let's be real, my green chair is an eyesore and difficult to get into and out of. That needed to change. During the month of August, I successfully made the actual fabric cover for it. I'm still planning on adding an applique of my heraldry to the back, but that is taking a little bit of a back seat.

The completed, Kiki approved, chair cover.

The end of August and the beginning of September were really rough for me, and that's why this post came out so late. I got really really sick for 2 weeks and needed to prioritize getting better over anything else. I had high hopes for September, but we'll see where that actually ends up. My goals for September are as follows:

  • Finish my green tester dress for the Love and Beauty dress in time for Battle on the Bay on the 25th.

  • Get as far as possible on the applique for my chair cover. This will involve cutting out all the pieces, drawing and embroidering on the details of the rose, adding all the ermine to the bordure, then piecing together the field, bordure, and rose.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page